We are governed by a Board of voluntary non-executive directors

Our Board meets a number of times a year and is advised by its own permanent sub-committees which are made up of Board members, IHF executives and, on occasion, external members. 

Our sub-committees cover areas such as: Finance and Remuneration; Research & Policy; Strategy; Audit, Risk and Governance; Fundraising and Education & Training. Our Board also oversees all governance which we operate to the highest standards so as to maintain our credibility, independence and long-term sustainability. See Governance for more information.

Meet our Current Board Members 

jean callanan

Jean Callanan

Chair of the Board​, Jean Callanan is a strategic consultant and thinking partner to companies in Ireland and Internationally. Jean spent 20 years marketing major brands and roles have included global brand manager of Unilever flagship brand Magnum ice cream. She is a Director of An Bord Iascaigh Mhara.

martin freyne

Martin Freyne

Martin is a chartered accountant and has been a partner in PwC for almost 25 years. During that time he worked with a variety of organisations, ranging from global companies to family businesses. He is familiar with the not-for-profit sector and is a non executive director of Waterford Intellectual Disability Association.

Ita Mangan

Ita Mangan

Ita Mangan is a barrister who has specialised in welfare rights and public inquiries.  She was Chair of the Citizens Information Board from 2015  to 2020. She is currently a member of the Pensions Commission and is Chair of Age and Opportunity.

Geoff Moore

Geoff is a solicitor and is the managing partner of Arthur Cox, one of Ireland’s leading law firms. He specialises in mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance and private equity. He is recognised as one of the country’s leading corporate lawyers by various independent publications, including Chambers Global/Europe, The Legal 500, IFLR and Who’s Who Legal. 

Susan O' Reilly

Susan is a clinical professor in the School of Medicine, Trinity College, Dublin. She is a medical oncologist who has now retired from leadership roles in cancer care and clinical research in Ireland and Canada, where she has been the Director of Ireland’s National Cancer Control Programme, Clinical Professor and Head of Medical Oncology in the University of British Columbia, Vancouver and Vice President Cancer Care at the British Columbia Cancer Agency.

Maeve OReilly

Maeve O' Reilly

Dr Maeve O’Reilly is a UCD graduate and a consultant in palliative medicine appointed to St Lukes Hospital, Rathgar in 2001. She works across three sites, St Lukes Radiation Oncology Network (SLRON), Our Lady’s Hospice Harold’s Cross and Childrens Hospital Ireland @ Crumlin. She has a particular interest in the development of palliative care services for children in Ireland.

Colm O' Sé

Colm is a partner in KPMG where he has worked with a number of Ireland’s largest companies for more than 25 years, providing advice on a wide range of areas including Financial Reporting and Environmental Social & Governance matters. Colm is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland.

Amilah Ali

Amilah works in the community Welfare/Youth Department of the Islamic Cultural Centre of Ireland in Clonskeagh. She has a degree in biochemistry and a Masters in Biomedical Diagnostics. In previous roles Amilah has trained as a care assistant in Our Lady’s Hospice, Harold’s Cross and worked as a carer in nursing homes

tony holohan

Tony Holohan

Dr Tony Holohan worked in the Department of Health as Deputy Chief Medical Officer and then Chief Medical Officer for over 20 years. In his roles there he supported the Irish government to deliver quality public healthcare including the development of policy for public health, patient safety and quality.

Anne-Marie Taylor

Anne-Marie is an experienced Non-Executive Director, currently on the board of the Public Appointments Service and a member of the UCD Governing Authority.  She is a partner with Board Excellence, leading the Non-Executive Director search function. Most of her executive career was with Accenture. In recent years she has led her own management consulting operation working on business transformation projects. Anne-Marie has a Diploma in Corporate Governance. In 2020, she was shortlisted for National Trustee of the Year. 

Gina Quin

Gina Quin is the President and a Director of National College of Ireland, a not-for-profit Higher Education College in Dublin’s International Financial Services Centre and Silicon Docks. Previously, Gina worked as Chief Executive of Dublin Chamber, and as CEO of Gandon Enterprises, the commercial division of the Rehab Group. A Psychologist by training, Gina started her career with Lansdowne Market Research and the Irish Export Board.